NAME, M/DD NAME, M/DD NAME, M/DD NAME, M/DD Express %26 Inspire Development %26 Publication
Daily Listings
join our mailing list

Get selected timely event updates and news about Poetry Flash in your email inbox.


Ana Castillo

PEN Oakland Book Awards: Ana Castillo, Avotcja, Tongo Eisen-Martin, more

2 DECEMBER 2018 — sunday

The 28th Annual PEN Oakland Josephine Miles Awards honor outstanding literary achievement in America's diverse literary community, 2018 recipients are Tongo Eisen-Martin, Heaven is All Goodbyes, City Lights Books; Jerome Rothenberg, Technicians of the Sacred: A Range of Poetries from Africa, America, Asia, Europe and Oceania, University of California Press; Percival Everett, So Much Blue, Graywolf Press; Andrew Sean Greer, Less, Lee Boudreaux Books; Julie Lythcott-Haims, Real American, Henry Holt; Paul Ortiz, An African American and Latinx History of the United States, ReVisioning American History/Beacon Press; M.L. Liebler, Heaven was Detroit: From Jazz to Hip Hop and Beyond, Wayne State University Press; Adelle Foley Award will be presented to poet and percussionist Avotcja; Gary Webb Anti-Censorship Award presented to Oakland Mayor Libby Schaaf; Reginald Lockett Lifetime Achievement Award to fiction writer and poet Ana Castillo; Koret Auditorium, San Francisco Main Library, 100 Larkin Street, San Francisco, 2:00-5:00 (

Daily Listings

Northern California

< previous month  |  show all MARCH  |  next month >

28 MARCH 2020 — saturday

  • Saturday Night Special, An East Bay Open Mic, monthly literary reading series, bring on/off theme poems, stories, comedy sketches, songs, or dances, three-minute maximum, theme announced at end of previous month's open mic, readings by two featured writers, hosted by Hollie Hardy and Tomas Moniz, last Saturday of every month, Nick's Lounge, 3218 Adeline Street, Berkeley, 21+, free but one drink minimum, cash only, sign up 7:00, show 7:00-9:30 (510/652-NICK,

29 MARCH 2020 — sunday

30 MARCH 2020 — monday

  • Poetry Express presents a Poetry Expressed Magazine Reading, all who have been published in Poetry Expressed are invited to read their work from the annual online magazine, Himalayan Flavors Restaurant, 1585 University Avenue, Berkeley, free but donations appreciated, 7:00-9:00 (
  • Aaron Shurin, pioneer in LGBTQ+ studies and innovative verse, in a poetry reading for his new book, The Blue Absolute, Moe's Books, 2476 Telegraph Avenue, Berkeley, 7:00 (

31 MARCH 2020 — tuesday

< previous month  |  show all MARCH  |  next month >


© 1972-2016 Poetry Flash. All rights reserved.  |